Awards

Barnby Moor, Retford, Nottinghamshire DN22 8QS | 01777 705121

Call us today
01777 705121
Book Now

x
<
>

Explore Retford, Doncaster, Bawtry, Lincoln, Newark..... and hunt for Robin Hood!

Barnby Moor is quite literally just off the A1 at the tip of North Nottinghamshire with Yorkshire, Derbyshire and Lincolnshire either side - so plenty to explore.  Surrounded by the Dukeries, estates of five previous Dukes, with Sherwood Forest, Rufford, Thoresby, Welbeck and the 4,000 acre National Trust Clumber Park on our doorstep!  The origins of the Pilgrim Fathers at nearby Scrooby and former 12th century monasteries Rufford & Newstead Abbeys, Southwell Minster, Lincoln Cathedral and the magnificent Chatsworth House are all within striking distance.

There's theatres, cinemas, art galleries and some top concerts to make the focus of your visit.  Farm shops, parks and gardens galore with the renowned Hodsock Priory Snowdrops a highlight of the winter calendar just 5 minutes down the road.  Interesting courses from butchery to bakery at the Welbeck School of Artisan Food with a chocolatier, cheesemaker and brewery on the estate.

Newark Air Museum, the Vulcan Museum and Waddington Air Show are a must for enthusiasts, as is the new Civil War Museum at Newark.  Horseracing, including the famous St Leger, at Doncaster and all weather at Southwell are less than half an hour away.  Nottinghamshire also claims national sporting fame with Trent Bridge, Holme Pierrepoint, Nottingham Forest, Torvill & Dean and Rebecca Adlington!
 
Apart from hunting for Robin Hood in Sherwood Forest and a ride on the narrow gauge railway, children love Sundown Adventureland, the farm parks and wildlife at nearby nature reserves.

Shopping in our quaint market towns of Retford, Bawtry and Newark to the big cities or centres like Meadowhall.

Something for all ages and all interests!  Explore with us! 

 

Quick Links
Historic
Arts & Culture
Parks & Gardens
Spectator Sports
Outdoor Pursuits
Youngsters
Leisure & Shopping

Historic  
Brodsworth Hall and Gardens  
Changing fortunes of a wealthy Victorian family.
www.english-heritage.org.uk
Chatsworth House
Home to the Duke and Duchess of Devonshire.
www.chatsworth.org
Conisbrough Castle
12th-century with the only cylindrical keep in England.
www.english-heritage.org.uk
Hardwick Hall
One of Britain's greatest and most complete Elizabethan houses.
www.nationaltrust.org.uk
Lincoln Cathedral
Stunning cathedral on hilltop near the Castle.
www.lincolncathedral.com
Mattersey Priory                                         
Monastery for just six Gilbertine canons.
www.english-heritage.org.uk
Newark Castle
Medieval castle with dungeons
www.newark-sherwooddc.gov.uk
Newark Town Hall Museum
Civil war siege, civic treasures & art collections
www.newarktownhallmuseum.co.uk
Newstead Abbey
Augustinian priory and ancestral home of Lord Byron
www.newsteadabbey.org.uk
Papplewick Pumping Station              
Ornate Victorian Architecture with two unique Watts Rotative Beam Engines.
www.papplewickpumpingstation.org.uk
Pilgrim Fathers
The origins of the Pilgrim Fathers on the Mayflower Trail at Scrooby
http://www.pilgrimfathersorigins.org/
 
Roche Abbey
Cistercian abbey in valley landscaped by 'Capability' Brown.
www.english-heritage.org.uk
Rufford Abbey
Best-preserved remains of a Cistercian abbey west cloister in England.
www.english-heritage.org.uk
Southwell Minster       
Norman minster dating back to 1108.
www.southwellminster.co.uk
Southwell Workhouse     
The best-preserved workhouse in England.
www.nationaltrust.org.uk
Mr Straw's House
A 1920s house captured in time
www.nationaltrust.org.uk
Welbeck Abbey Estate
A splendid historic estate and hidden gem
www.welbeck.co.uk
   
Arts & Culture  
Welbeck School of Artisan Food www.schoolofartisanfood.org
Harley Gallery www.harleygallery.co.uk
Thoresby Gallery www.whatsonatthoresby.co.uk
Bassetlaw Museum www.bassetlawmuseum.org.uk
Retford Little Theatre www.rlt.org.uk
Retford Majestic Theatre www.majesticretford.com
Doncaster Cast Theatre www.castindoncaster.com
Doncaster Little Theatre www.doncasterlittletheatre.co.uk
Doncaster Dome www.the-dome.co.uk
Vulcan Air Museum Robin Hood Airport www.vulcantothesky.org
Newark Air Museum www.newarkairmuseum.org
Northern Racing College www.northernracingcollege.co.uk

Parks and Gardens
 
Sherwood Forest & Nature Reserve www.sherwoodforest.org.uk
Clumber Park www.nationaltrust.org.uk
Rufford Country Park www.nottinghamshire.gov.uk
Hodsock Priory Gardens www.snowdrops.co.uk

Spectator Sports
 
Doncaster Racecourse www.doncaster-racecourse.co.uk
Southwell Racecourse www.southwell-racecourse.co.uk
Doncaster Rugby Football Club www.drfc.co.uk
Doncaster Keepmoat Stadium www.keepmoatstadium.com
Test Match Cricket www.trentbridge.co.uk

Outdoor Pursuits

 

Snozone Real Snow Slope www.xscape.co.uik
Lindrick Golf Club www.lindrickgolfclub.co.uk
Rufford Park Golf and Country Club www.ruffordpark.co.uk
Retford Golf Club www.retfordgolfclub.org
Go-Karting near Sherwood Forest www.amencornerkarting.co.uk
Go-Karting at Newark www.elkmotorsport.co.uk
Adrenalin Jungle www.adrenalinjungle.com
Bawtry Paintball and Laser Fields www.bawtrypaintballfields.co.uk
Go Ape! at Sherwood www.goape.co.uk
   
Youngsters  
Sundown Adventureland www.sundownadventureland.co.uk
Yorkshire Wildlife Park www.yorkshirewildlifepark.com
White Post Farm Centre www.whitepostfarmcentre.co.uk
   
Leisure and Shopping  
Doncaster Lakeside Village Outlet shopping   www.lakeside-village.co.uk
Doncaster Frenchgate Shopping Centre www.frenchgateshopping.co.uk
Meadowhall Shopping Centre www.meadowhall.co.uk
Thoresby Outdoor Market (Mar-Oct) www.thoresbysundaymarket.co.uk

News

Join our mailing list to receive updates and offers